City honours best urban designs at awards ceremony


Ottawa Construction News staff writer

The City of Ottawa honoured Ottawa’s finest urban designs Oct. 16 at the Ottawa Urban Design Awards held at the Canadian Museum of Nature, which was itself a recipient of the award in 2011. This biennial program recognizes projects exhibiting urban design excellence built between Sept. 1, 2011 and Sept. 1, 2013.

“Urban design has a strong impact in creating a liveable, vibrant and dynamic city,” said Councillor Peter Hume, chair of the city’s planning committee. “That’s why the judging panel set the bar so high this year. The competition was very tough, and the winning projects are exemplary.”

The competition was open to urban designers, planners, landscape architects, architects, engineers, developers, contractors, consultants, students, artists, property owners and the general public.

Three expert independent jurors assessed 51 submissions in five categories — Student Projects, Urban Infill , Urban Elements, Public Places, Civic Spaces and the newest category featured this year, Visions and Master Plans. This time around, three projects received the Award of Excellence and will move on to compete nationally in the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s (RAIC) 2014 Urban Design Awards program.

In addition, one project submission was unique enough that it did not fall in any of the established categories. As a result, a “Campus Infill” category was created to properly acknowledge the work behind the Robert C. Gillett Student Commons at Algonquin College.

“RAIC’s Urban Design Awards program will host its sixth edition in 2014, and Ottawa has won an award in each of the previous events,” said Nancy Schepers, deputy city manager of planning and infrastructure. “This speaks volumes about both the innovative and vibrant designs in our city’s architecture and use of public space. Ottawa has plenty to be proud about.”

Here is the list of recipients of the Award of Merit and the Award of Excellence for 2013:

Award of Merit – student project
417 Rideau Street
Lucas Boyd, Shane Dalke, The Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism, Carleton University

Award of Merit – student project
Mateusz Nowacki, The Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism, Carleton University

Award of Excellence – student project

Urban Agritecture
Lucas Boyd, The Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism, Carleton University

Award of Merit – urban infill (low-rise)
Zen Barn
Christopher Simmonds, Rick Shean: Christopher Simmonds Architect Inc.

Roy Nandram, RND Construction

David Walker, Genivar

Mark Filoso, Alpha Energy Systems

Denis Groulx, Greentech Insulation

Richard Groulx, RJS Masters

Neil Fitzpatrick, ALC/UCC Contractors (landscape)

Phil and Tom Priddle, The Wood Source

Brian Vlaming, LTR Industries

Project owner/developer: Vivien Frenkel and David Moher

This project also won several GOHBA Housing Design Awards, including the People’s Choice Award. See separate story.

Award of Excellence – urban infill (low-rise)
The Hintonburg Six
James Colizza, Anthony Bruni, Nic De Socio, Colizza Bruni Architecture Inc.

Project owner/developer: Ginna Colizza, Anthony Bruni, Neel Bhatt, Chris Theodossiou, Nic De Socio, Victoria Colizza

Award of Merit – urban infill (mid- to high-rise)
360 LOFTS Condominium
Toon Dreessen, Farrow Dreessen Architects Inc.

Jon Turner, Adjeleian Allen Rubeli Ltd.

Richard Chiarelli, Chiarelli Engineering

Douglas Gray, DB Gray Engineering

Project owner/developer: Jakub Ulak Surface Developments Ltd, Tega Developments

Award of Excellence – urban elements

National Capital Commission’s Rideau Canal skateway chalets
Anthony Leaning, Richard Gurnham, CSV Architects

Scott Funnell, Halsall Associates

Gordon King, Gordon King Photography

Project owner/developer: Tom Laverty, National Capital Commission

Award of Merit – campus infill (new category by jury)
Robert C. Gillett Student Commons
Stephen Teeple, Chris Radigan, Eric Boelling, Tomer Diamant, Rob Cheung, Carla Pereja, Teeple Architects Inc.

Donna Johnston, James Moffat, Peter Spal, Neno Kovacevic, IBI Group Project Management, Civil Engineering and Landscape Architecture

Rob MacGowan, John Boisonnault, PLC Constructors Canada

Michael Petrescu, Adjelian, Allen, Rubeli Ltd.

Fahim Hassam, Crossey Engineering Ltd.

Project owner/developer: Algonquin College

Award of Merit – visions and master plans

Downtown Moves-Transforming Ottawa’s streets
Ron Clarke, Ana Stuermer, Mark Baker, Delcan Corporation

David Leinster, Donna Hinde, Robin Chubb, The Planning Partnership

Marc Jolicoeur, Bartek Komorowski, Vélo-Québec
Ken Greenberg, Greenberg Consultants Inc.
Jill Sparling, David S.McRobie Architects Inc.

Project owner/developer: Nelson Edwards, City of Ottawa

Award of Merit – visions and master plans

Rideau Canal multi-use crossing
Mark Langridge, Peter Fletcher Smith, DTAH

Michael Vachon, Peter Steacy, Tim Dickinson, MMM Group

Project owner/developer: Colin Simpson, City of Ottawa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.