CSC Ottawa celebrates success at annual chapter meeting

CSC executive members speaking at the Annual Chapter meeting (from left): Craig Cosgrove, Ali Ahrabi and Brian Hepworth



Ontario Construction News staff writer

Construction Specifications Canada (CSC) Ottawa chapter members gathered at a Stittsville golf club for the annual chapter meeting and a dinner last Wednesday (June 8).

There was much to celebrate, even though the chapter’s director Hanan Raghib and its 2022-23 chair Amal Zerhloul could not attend because they had contracted COVID-19 at the CSC national convention in late May. (Fortunately, they are recovering well.)

Former director Brian Hepworth read Raghib’s remarks as past chair.

“This event is a great opportunity for us to connect with each other, review our chapter’s achievements over the past year, and start planning for next year’s activities,” she said.

“You are our precious treasure, with you and your contributions as active members we can move forward towards the better of CSC’s vision, mission, values and core beliefs.”

Treasurer Justin Tudor’s financial statement indicated that the chapter’s resources remain healthy. It had $87,573 in the bank at the beginning of the 2021/22 fiscal year, and by the end, the balance had increased to $98,845, as revenue continued to exceed expenses.

While the chapter had only one in-person event in the past year (other than the annual chapter meeting) because of COVID-19 restrictions, the chapter’s educational officer Ali Ahrabi reported it successfully co-ordinated three CSC courses, serving 14 students. The educational courses generated most of the chapter’s surplus revenue.

Ahrabi said one priority for the upcoming year will be to launch a student design competition. It will open on Oct. 1, with entries submitted by April 30, 2023.  Ahrabi encouraged members to join a special committee to oversee the competition.

Chapter executive members for 2022-23 are: Hanan Raghib, director and engineering officer; Amal Zerhloul, chair and Web administrator; Ali Ahrabi, vice-chair and education certification officer; Brian Hepworth, student liaison officer, Justin Tudor, treasurer, Craig Cosgrove, program and events officer, Mike Thornber, specifier and membership officer; Mark Buckshon (Ontario Construction News publisher), marketing officer, and John Cooke, chapter advisor.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.