Homebuilders recognized for building green Net Zero and ENERGY STAR qualified homes in the spotlight


– The Ottawa Construction News

EnerQuality has announced the 2015 EnerQuality Award winners for builders, which the organization says are committed to building energy efficient and sustainable homes.

“Ontario’s homebuilding industry has a commendable track record of creativity and innovation,” said EnerQuality’s president at the Feb. 26 awards gala in Toronto. “ENERGY STAR for New Homes is a success story that all Ontarians should be proud of, proving that voluntary, builder led initiatives work.”

Mattamy Homes received the ENERGY STAR® for New Homes Builder of the Year – Large Volume award. Mattamy, Canada’s largest homebuilder, earned the achievement for the third time.

Mattamy Homes was one of the first builders to participate in the ENERGY STAR program, which has become the most successful green building program in Canada, EnerQuality said in a news release. Today, 32 per cent of all new homes built in Ontario are ENERGY STAR qualified.

Two Oshawa based builders walked the green carpet. Midhaven Homes received the ENERGY STAR for New Homes – Mid Volume award and Jeffery Homes received the ENERGY STAR for New Homes – Small/Custom award.

The Minto Group was named the Ontario Green Builder of the Year for a second year in a row. The award is presented annually to a builder that raises the bar for the rest of the industry through its leadership in improving the environmental, energy efficiency, and overall image of the industry.

Reid’s Heritage Homes took home the inaugural Net Zero Builder of the Year award. Net Zero homes are energy selfsufficient and are designed to produce at least as much power as they consume. Reid’s Heritage Homes was also the recipient of the Building Innovation – Low Rise award, and the Best Green Marketing Campaign of the Year, for their efforts to educate homebuyers.

Tridel, the largest builder of condominiums in the Toronto area, was awarded the inaugural award for Building Innovation – Mid and High Rise. The award recognizes technical excellence in energy efficient and green building practices, which is key to achieving more sustainable communities.

Andy Goyda, Canadian builder lead and market development manager for Owens Corning Canada was inducted into the EnerQuality Hall of Fame. The award is presented to an individual who, over the course of their career, has made a lasting impact on energy efficiency and green building in the housing industry. Goyda has been influential in the residential industry for 40 years, including his pioneering support of ENERGY STAR for New Homes and Net Zero. His leadership has helped Ontario’s homebuilding industry become the most energy efficient in Canada.

Sonja Winkelmann, director of Net Zero Energy Housing for the Canadian Home Builders’ Association was recognized as EQ Leader of the Year.

The awards show followed the EnerQuality Housing Innovation Forum, where a sold out audience discussed the future of green building in Ontario. In the closing keynote conversation, Dr. Diane Saxe, Environmental Commissioner of Ontario, and Peter Gilgan, founder and CEO of Mattamy Homes and member of Ontario’s Climate Action Group, discussed the future of homebuilding in light of Ontario’s new Climate Change Strategy.

The complete list of winners includes:

The Minto Group: Ontario Green Builder of the Year

Tridel: Building Innovation (Mid and High Rise)

Reid’s Heritage Homes: Building Innovation (Low Rise)

Mattamy Homes: ENERGY STAR® for New Homes Builder of the Year (Large Volume)

Midhaven Homes: ENERGY STAR® for New Homes Builder of the Year (Mid Volume)

Jeffery Homes: ENERGY STAR® for New Homes Builder of the Year (Small/Custom)

Reid’s Heritage Homes: Net Zero Builder of the Year

Reid’s Heritage Homes: Best Green Marketing Campaign of the Year

4syte Design Build: Best Green Renovation Project of the Year

John Corvinelli: ENERGY STAR® for New Homes Champion of the Year

Stephen Magneron: Evaluator of the Year

RND Construction: R-2000 Builder of the Year

Andy Goyda: Hall of Fame Sonja Winkelmann: EQ Leader of the Year

Union Gas, Owens Corning Canada, Enbridge Gas Distribution: EQ Industry Partners of the Year

Fernbrook Homes: Enbridge Savings by Design Award

Also returning to the forum this year was the Innovation Gauntlet – a Dragon’s Den style competition where industry manufacturers and organizations pitched their smartest, most innovative products and services to a panel of judges. The Innovation Gauntlet winner is chosen live by the audience.

This year’s Innovation Gauntlet award was presented to LiteBuilt for its concrete “LITEBOK” building system – an environmentally friendly, interlocking building block that is ideal for taller buildings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.