OAA accepting submissions for 2015 Awards


The Ontario Association of Architects is seeking entries for the 2015 OAA Awards.

The awards highlight the best in architectural design and innovation by Ontario architects, recognizing both emerging talent as well as some of the province’s most established architectural firms.

This year, the OAA said it is emphasizing the importance of submitting multi-unit residential and mixed-use projects, including condominium buildings, within the nominations. Anyone, from members of the public, to industry partners, to architecture firms, can nominate a deserving project on behalf of the architect.

“As populations continue to grow and shift back towards urban centres, architects will need to present creative residential structures that promote density and accommodate mixed-uses while engaging within their given context and environment,” OAA President Bill Birdsell said, adding that “It’s important to recognize the architects that are designing exceptional and diverse expressions of our modern lifestyle.”

Some of submission categories include: Best Emerging Practice; Design Excellence; and Sustainable Design Excellence.

The deadline for submissions is January 26, 2015 at 4:30 pm.

Award recipients will be honoured at the Celebration of Excellence Awards Ceremony at the 2015 OAA Annual Conference in Hamilton. The ceremony will take place between May 6, 2015, and May 8, 2015.

The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.